Gulfport Police Chief Elected President of Regional Association

Tampa, FL--Judge J. Thomas McGrady, Chief Judge for Florida's sixth circuit, presided over the swearing-in of the 2013 officers and board members for the Tampa Bay Area Chiefs of Police Association. Gulfport Police Chief, Rob Vincent, was elected to serve as the president of the organization, which represents law enforcement administrators in seven bay area counties. In a speech to the nearly 100 members and guests at the ceremony, Chief Vincent highlighted the distinguished history of the Association, which spans over sixty years. He said that his goal is to tap the resources available to the members in an effort to expand the influence the organization has throughout the state as they move into the future of protecting and serving Florida's citizens.

Other members elected to the board of directors:

Vice President: Chief Ken Albano, Temple Terrace
Secretary/Treasurer: Chief Ray Velboom, Dade City
Immediate Past President: Assistant Federal Security Director Greg Mertz, TSA Tampa Airport

Board members: 

Mark Ober, State Attorney for Hillsborough County
Chief Dorene Thomas, Pinellas Park
Chief Tom Longo, University of South Florida Police
Chief Anthony Holloway, Clearwater
Chief Bob Kochen, Tarpon Springs
Colonel Greg Brown, Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office
Assistant Chief John Bennett, Tampa

Gulfport Police Department
Media Release

   Chief of Police                                   Public Information Officer
 Robert A. Vincent  Sgt. Thomas Woodman
   (727)893-1049                                           (727)893-1051